Brynkinalt (also known as Bryn-kinallt)607

Wrexham, Wales

Brief Description

Brynkinalt has a picturesque landscape park in very fine setting, laid out in the early-19th century on an ancient site. There are gothic features such as a folly, a bridge and shelters. There are also formal and informal pleasure gardens and an unusual tunnel to the kitchen garden. Part of the park is in Shropshire, and listed on the English Heritage Register. Part of the estate is now a country park, and some is in commercial use.

History

The great house of Bryn-kinallt, first built in 1612, is shown on 19th-century maps to be surrounded by a large park, designed around 1808. Presumably there were grounds in existence from the 17th century, attached to the original house.

Visitor Facilities

Part of the site is is a municipal park for general public use.

Detailed Description

The landscape park of Bryn-Kinallt dates from around 1808, with Gothic features and an unusual tunnel to the kitchen garden.

There is a main approach to the house from the south which is over a mile long, and it crosses the River Ceiriog at Lady's Bridge. A lodged gate marked the southern extremity of the drive (O.S. 6" V.SW 1895).

Features
  • House (featured building)
  • Description: The original building, which was three storeys high, was constructed of brick. The Great Hall was once an open courtyard, and the coaches entered via an arch where the stairs are now situated. Buildings adjacent to the main entrance arch were once utilised as alehouses, bakeries and stables. Extensive remodelling was carried out in 1808.
  • Earliest Date:
  • Latest Date:
  • Kitchen Garden
  • Earliest Date:
  • Latest Date:
  • Tunnel
  • Description: A tunnel to the kitchen garden.
  • Earliest Date:
  • Latest Date:
  • Approach
  • Earliest Date:
  • Latest Date:
Access & Directions

Access Contact Details

Part of the site is is a municipal park for general public use.
History

Detailed History

The house at Bryn-kinallt was first built in 1612, with extensive remodeling carried out in 1808.

The first landscaped grounds date from the 17th century, but the current park was drastically remodelled in 1808, to the design of Charlotte, Viscountess Dungannon, in the picturesque style.

Contact

Telephone

01443 336000

Official Website

Other websites

Owners

  • Trevor (Brynkinalt) Estate Company Ltd.

    Bryngwilla Lodge, Gledrid, Oswestry, Shropshire, SY10 7AW
References

References