Glanusk Park and Penmyarth 1424

Ffawyddog, Wales

Brief Description

Glanusk Park is an extensive and picturesque park in the upper Usk valley dating from the early-19th century and earlier. The park survives in its entirety, although the grand house designed and built by Robert Lugar between 1825 and 1830 has gone. Early-19th-century Penmyarth, the current residence of the family, overlooks the park. The remains of a mid- to late 19th-century garden by Arthur Markham Nesfield lie next to the house site and include remnants of a parterre garden with a fountain, and pleasure grounds.The estate provides a venue for various cultural, sporting and corporate events.

Features
  • Garden Wall
  • Description: Garden boundary wall including gated entrance
  • Garden Terrace
  • Description: Garden terrace wall to the north of the house site
  • Kitchen Garden
  • Description: Walled kitchen garden
  • House (featured building)
  • Description: Penmyarth was incorporated into the estate in the mid-19th century and is now the principal residence.
  • Earliest Date:
  • Kennels
  • Description: Towerwood Kennels
Authorities

Civil Parish

  • Llangattock
Associated People

People associated to Glanusk Park and Penmyarth

Contact

Telephone

01443 336000

Official Website

Click Here

Other websites

Owners

    References

    References