Llwynywormwood (also known as Llwynywermod)2131

Myddfai, Wales

Brief Description

Llwynywormwood is a late-18th- or early-19th-century landscaped park created by Sir George Griffies-Williams out of rolling countryside. There are scenic drives which maximized the picturesque views, not only of the park, house, stream and a lake but also of the Brecon Beacons beyond. There is a vestigial lake, and walled kitchen garden.

History

The main phase of construction was between 1785 and 1809.The mansion house was largely demolished in the mid-20th century and stands as a ruin. The Prince of Wales purchased the estate in 2007 and has extensively refurbished and altered the coach house, barn and outbuildings to create a quadrangle around a gravelled courtyard, parts of which may at times be available as holiday lets.

Features

Style

  • Picturesque
  • Mansion House (featured building)
  • Description: The 18th-century mansion house had been reduced to a roofless ruin prior to its sale to the Prince of Wales. The coach house in the range of farm buildings became the principal residence during the 20th century.
  • Earliest Date:
  • Latest Date:
  • Lake
  • Description: The former 3.6 acre lake on the Nant Ydw was created by damming the river and is now entirely silted, and in need of restoration.
  • Earliest Date:
  • Latest Date:
  • Drive
  • Description: There are scenic drives which, when restored, will give pleasing views of the parkland.
  • Earliest Date:
  • Kitchen Garden
  • Description: There is an 18th-century walled kitchen garden, restored in the late-20th century and containing flowers, vegetables and a late-20th century greenhouse.
  • Ornamental Bridge
  • Description: There are two bridges crossing the Nant Ydw. One is dated 1812. Both are overgrown and in poor repair.
  • Kitchen Garden
  • Description: The kitchen garden is walled in local stone up to 3 metres high. It is in the shape of a playing card, but small, 0.6 acres in extent.
  • Latest Date:
  • Icehouse
  • Description: West of the mansion and adjacent to the bakehouse is a depression cut into the bedrock which is believed to be the remains of an icehouse.
  • Latest Date:
Authorities

Civil Parish

  • Myddfai
History

Period

  • Late 18th Century
Contact

Telephone

01443 336000

Official Website

Click Here

Owners

  • Charles, Prince of Wales

References

References